Essex Symphony Orchestra Reg. Charity No. 1000732

Site last updated on 3 May 2018

Share on Twitter

Tom Hammond has been Music Director of ESO since 2009.

After being selected by Sir Charles Mackerras to be the first Junior Fellow in conducting at Trinity Laban Conservatoire (2006-08), Tom Hammond has developed a rich and musically diverse career that encompasses working with top-flight professionals, youth orchestras, non-professional musicians, and leading education and outreach projects. 

Winning awards and critical acclaim en route, Tom has built a reputation for developing ensembles musically and artistically whilst encouraging thoughtful programming, championing new music and developing relationships with outstanding soloists. In 2011 Tom was appointed an Associate of the Royal Academy of Music, in recognition of his achievements in conducting.

Projects in 2015-16 included a performance of Rachmaninov's Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini with soloist Stephen Hough and the Yorkshire Young Sinfonia at Leeds Town Hall; a semi-staged performance of Sibelius' music for The Tempest with actor Scott Brooksbank and director Peter Avery; presenting  MusicUpClose for sound collective at the Winchester Science Festival, and the launch of the Hertfordshire Festival of Music - which he jointly founded with composer James Francis Brown.

Tom Hammond - Music director

Tom Hammond is Co-Artistic Director of sound collective and Music Director of the Essex Symphony Orchestra, Hertford Symphony Orchestra, Sinfonia Tamesa and - from 2016 - the St Albans Symphony Orchestra.

He is also a Principal Conductor at the Ingenium Academy International Summer School, Guest Conductor of the Palestine Youth Orchestra, and Music Director of the Yorkshire Young Sinfonia. This season he makes his debut with the Ernest Read Symphony Orchestra.

Soloists with whom Tom has collaborated with in recent seasons include Simon Callaghan (piano), Emma Halnan (flute), Anna Harvey (mezzo soprano), Fenella Humphreys (violin), Robert Murray (tenor) Daniel Pailthorpe (flute) and Matthew Sharp (cello).